Pembrokeshire Coastal Walk Video + a Few Moths

Last week I got back from a fantastic hiking/camping/bird watching holiday around the Pembrokeshire coastline. We started off in Manorbier and ended up in Martin’s Haven where we had the chance to visit the beautiful Skomer Island – bird paradise! Here is a video my boyfriend made of the trip – finally found a way for him to enjoy bird watching too!!! ūüėČ

I’ve got lots of photos and saw lots of fantastic birds, I will write a recap post ¬†sometime this week¬†but today I just wanted to¬†share a few moths I came across in Pembrokeshire (campsite toilets are moth magnets!) and a few from some recent trapping in my garden. When I say recent some of my garden moth¬†photos were taken over a month ago, just finding the time to go through them properly!

I started really looking forward to my early morning trip to the campsite toilets to see what I would discover, not sure all of the other campers were as keen though ūüėČ I particularly love the funky looking¬†snout and the lackey with reminds me of my weakness for little fluffy ginger kittens…. Although I’m sure my cat would gobble this fella up in a instance if she got the chance!! I’m not 100% on the pug ID, I’m pretty sure but I know there are a few¬†Eupithecia¬†species that are quite similar¬†so feel free to question it!

Buff arches (2)

Buff Arches

Buff arches cut

Untitled

Wormwood Pug

wormwood pug (2)

Snout

The Snout

Lackey

The Lackey

Lackey (2)

Buff ermine (2)

Buff Ermine

Buff ermineAnd a few from my garden…. Again feel free to correct me!

Codling Moth

Codling Moth

Bee Moth

Bee Moth, male

Willow Beauty

Willow Beauty

Endotricha flammealis

Heart and Dart

Heart and Dart

Treble Brown Spot

Treble Brown Spot

Marbled Orchard Tortrix

Marbled Orchard Tortrix

Common Carpet

Common Carpet

Enjoying getting my head around a few micros!

Also I spotted lots of day flying Mother Shipton and Burnet companion moths on my home from work a few weeks ago, along with some large skippers. I discovered a detour which takes me through a fantastic little bit of acid grassland which is much more exciting then my usual walk alongside a busy road!

Mother Shipton

Mother Shipton

Large Skipper

Large Skipper

 

 

Leave a Reply

