Getting Up Early to Go For a Run and Being Distracted By Moths….

Perhaps emptying the moth trap AND going for a run before leaving my house at 8.30 yesterday morning was a bit ambitious? I’ll have to get up earlier next time 😉

Obviously the moths won, in truth I wasn’t expecting to get much (or anything, if last weeks attempt was anything to go on), so I was pleasantly surprised to immediately spot a few micros sitting around the light and just inside the trap a Hebrew Character.

Hebrew Character, Orthosia gothica

Hebrew Character, Orthosia gothica

And then, much to my excitement, a couple of plume moths!

Emmelina monodactyla

Emmelina monodactyla

Amblyptilia acanthadactyla

Amblyptilia acanthadactyla

Amblyptilia acanthadactyla

Amblyptilia acanthadactyla

How cool are they?! I’m pretty new to this mothing business, in fact this will be my first spring having only constructed my homemade moth trap at the end of last summer. Although common species, these are my first plume moths so I was pretty chuffed.

The trap also delivered a couple of other micros for me to scratch my head over.

IMG_0968

Eriocrania subpurpurella

IMG_1054

Scopariinae sp. I think, haven’t worked out which one yet… Any suggestions?

It’s my birthday next week, so perhaps I will have to get this micro-moth guide as a present to myself 😉 Ha, if only!

Apologise for poor photos – low light levels and I haven’t worked out how to get good close up shots with my camera…. Or perhaps I need macro lens! Any one got any good tips on ‘moth photography’? The green recycling box background (which I made my trap out of) isn’t the best but I am terrible at coaxing the little guys on to a piece of paper without them flying away…..

Leave a Reply

